10.0 To 10.1 Upgrade On Same Server Follow

0
Avatar
Legacy Poster

I need to upgrade my Bartender server from 10 to 10.1. I have purchase the needed license and software maintenance agreement. Is this a full install over top of my existing installation? By this I am asking if I could simply run the installation of the new 10.1 software and do an in place upgrade without having to uninstall anything? I work for a 24/7 shop and Bartender is under constant use so I need the quickest and easiest method possible. After the upgrade I had planned on adding a printer license as well as I am at 3 printers and need to go to 4. However I would like to upgrade before purchasing a new printer license. Thanks, Jeff

4 comments

0
Avatar
Shotaro Ito
Comment actions Permalink

When you have valid 10.1 Automation license and running 10.0 BarTender + License Server on a PC, upgrade procedure on the PC would follows:

Run 10.1 installer on existing 10.0 environment.

It first uninstall 10.0 (it would take a while), then asks you to deactivate license. Deactivate license following the wizard.

After that the installer install 10.1 and ask you to activate license.

Activate with the 10.1 Product Key Code(PKC). You may asked to input 10.0 PKC too.

 

The latest 10.1 installer can be downloaded from below. use full package installer.

http://www.seagullscientific.com/label-software/fixes_101.aspx

0
Avatar
Legacy Poster
Comment actions Permalink

Thanks for the reply. By doing the uninstall when performing the upgrade will this delete all of my label templates, settings, and commander scripts? These are the things that I worry about. I have a development directory and a production directory. I do have backups that are taken of these configurations so I know that it is recommended. I just don't want to have to fall back on them if I don't need to. 

 

Thanks, 

 

Jeff

0
Avatar
Shotaro Ito
Comment actions Permalink

Label document and commander tasks are kept upon upgrade - at uninstall, bartender doesn't delete user documents.

0
Avatar
Legacy Poster
Comment actions Permalink

Label document and commander tasks are kept upon upgrade - at uninstall, bartender doesn't delete user documents.

Thanks for the information. I will move forward with this. 

 

J

Please sign in to leave a comment.